What's new
Cooking Forum

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Garage/Yard Sale

B

ButterSticks

I think I have about talked myself into having a yard sale this Saturday. I am rather nervous though, because I have never done one before. Do you have yard sales? Do you shop yard sales? Any tips you can give.

I am planning to put an ad in the garage sale section of the local paper (only 7.95 and that includes several signs to put up) I don't have a clue how much change to get. I am trying to price things but I am running into some that I think $10 is too high, and $5 is too low, is it okay to do $7 or $8 or should I stick to 'round' numbers? If things aren't all on tables, but the old sheet on the ground routine does that deter you from stopping at the sale?

I think my ad will read "123 Sample St, Saturday 8-12 Household items, entertainment center, lots of baby things" What do you think? There is a 15 word limit or you pay 30¢ for each extra word.

Any help is appreciated, thanks!

Sounds like you know what your doing. Remember there are alot of people that will try and talk you down on your prices. I think that putting stuff on tables and on sheets will work just fine, if you could I would try and hang up some of the nice clothes so that they will be easier to see.

Goodluck I hope that you do well let us know how the sale goes.

I always say I'm going to have one but can never get up the energy needed to get it together maybe next year

things on sheets makes me want to stop even more. Usually it means that you have LOTS of stuff and good prices. Just put the price on that would make you happy. And don't be afraid to say no to offers. Also dont be afraid to say yes.