What's new
Cooking Forum

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hey, All

K

KYHeirloomer

Just joined this forum and thought I'd say "hello."

I'm an avid foodie (some of you will know me from other sites) and cook from central Kentucky, where I live with my best friend (and bride of 40 years) on 13 acres. We raise many of our own vegetables; all heirlooms, as I refuse to put a hybrid in the ground.

I'm a freelance writer by trade, with gardening, food, and cookery among my specialties. And I'm the managing director of the Appalachian Heirloom Seed Conservancy---a not-for-profit organization dedicated to preserving the edible heritage of the mountain south.

And I'm the managing director of the Appalachian Heirloom Seed Conservancy---a not-for-profit organization dedicated to preserving the edible heritage of the mountain south.

What a cool thing to do for a living :)

I have some mint that my grandmother brought to the US from Lithuania around 1910. My mother had it in her garden and now I do. It has a wide leaf about 1 1/2" wide. Is this something you'd be interested in or are you working with local plants?

As both an individual and representative of AHSC, my concern is with local heirlooms; plants that have been grown in the mountain south and passed down, one generation to another.

The exception, for me, are medicinal herbs; herbalism is another of my things, and I don't care where they came from if they do the job I need them for.

I'm sure, though, that there are many heirlooms enthusiasts who would be interested in your grandmother's mint. Check out some of the seed-trading mail lists and herbal forums.