What's new
Cooking Forum

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hi from Manila!

A

aijaraza

I'm Aileen, an avid cook, cookbook author and magazine publisher. I've been in the kitchen for most of my adult life and cooking has always been an activity my family enjoys my husband and two grown-up daughters are great cooks, too). All of us are graduates of hotel and restaurant management and my husband works in the biggest multi-national hamburger chain, McDonald's. I'm so glad to find this forum and I hope to be able to share with you nuggets of information and at the same time learn fron you, too.

Hey, Aileen,

Welcome to the forum. I hope you'll be real active.

I'm a freelance writer, myself, with food and cookery one of my areas of interest. So we might have a match there. ;)

Meanwhile, I'd love to see one of your recipes for adobo. Most that are available in the U.S. are the Mexican type, which is chili based rather than vinagar based.

Here's Your Adobo Recipe

Hi!

I have a good recipe for adobo which has vinegar as one of the key ingredients. This recipe is a bit on the sweet side (Filipinos love the sweet-salty flavors), so you can omit the sugar if you like. The key here is marinating the pork. You can also substitute chicken, but shorten cooking time.

1 kg pork cubes (picnic or belly)
1/2 cup vinegar
1/2 cup soy sauce
1 tsp garlic, minced
water
1 Tbsp sugar
2 pcs bayleaf
8 whole peppercorns

Combine vinegar, soy sauce and garlic in a bowl. Add pork cubes and marinate for at least 1 hour (more than 1 hour if you have time).