What's new
Cooking Forum

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sourdough Bread Help

jglass

I need a simple starter recipe for sourdough.
I would also love some ciabatta bread recipes.
Keep in mind I am a beginner bread maker.
So far I do best cheating and allowing my bread machine to make the dough :eek: then baking it in my oven. The bread machine makes good bread. I just dont care for the shape of the loaves they produce.

When I was looking up recipes for sourdough and ciabatta I found all of these lovely sites where people were making the bread from scratch. I felt a little guilty for cheating with the bread machine lol.
Thanks for the links.

I'm glad I don't have guilt. :D To me the bread machine is a kitchen tool just like anything else -- mixer, coffee maker, stove, oven, toaster, etc. The end result still requires the skill and touch of the cook.

I don't use a bread machine for three reasons:

1. Space. Just don't have room for one.
2. I find working with dough to be somewhat theraputic.
3. A bread machine limits what I can make, particularly as I get more and more involved with delayed fermentation and the use of preferments. And, as you noticed, you are limited in shapes.

Note that none of these reasons involve a moral committment.

The idea that using one is cheating is just silly. Go to bread forums such as The Baking Circle, forums filled with serious bread makers, and you'll find almost as many of them using bread machines as are working from scratch.

As CanMan says, a bread machine is just another kitchen tool. You can choose to use one, or choose not to use one. But that's all it is; a personal choice. Nothing to feel guilty about, one way or the other.

Yeah I have a tiny kitchen and to many toys taking up space.