What's new
Cooking Forum

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

In Honor of Passing of Beloved Estelle Getty

chubbyalaskagriz

In honor of the life of our Beloved Actress Estelle Getty (Sophia from 'Golden Girls') who passed away yesterday, I ask everyone to offer a fine recipe for either their favorite Italian dish or a cheesecake.

Sexy Chocolate Cheesecake

“Between two evils- I always pick the one I’ve never tried before!”
–Mae West

My new fav cheesecake is this non-baked one made by my young niece.​

crust:
3 c. crushed OREO cookies
1/4 c. sugar
1/2 c. (1 stick) margarine, melted

filling:
1-3/4 c. milk chocolate morsels
1 envelope (.25 oz.) unflavored gelatin
½ c. milk
2 pkg. (8 oz. each) cream cheese, softened
½ c. sour cream
½ t. almond extract
½ c. heavy whipping cream, whipped

for crust:
thoroughly mix crushed OREOS, sugar and melted margarine together and press firmly onto bottom and 2” up the side of a 9” springform pan

filling:
microwave chocolate in bowl. place milk in small sauce pan and sprinkle gelatin over and allow to soften for 1 minute. warm milk over medium heat on stove stirring constantly until gelatin is melted- remove from heat.
beat cream cheese, sour cream and melted chocolate in large mixer bowl until fluffy. beat in milk/gelatin mixture and almond extract until thoroughly blended, then fold in whipped cream. Pour into crust. Refrigerate at least 3 hours or until firm. Slice and serve. (Hailley serves this w/ fresh raspberries.)

Last edited:
My favorite fine recipe for an Italian dish is:

Mock Lasagana:

3 cups your favorite spaghetti sauce
3 cups of cooked & drained macaroni noodles
1 16 oz small curd cottage cheese
2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
1 tbsp. Dried parsley flakes
1 tbsp. Dried Italian seasoning mix