What's new
Cooking Forum

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

newbie here

C

cooking diva

Hello,
My name is Pat and i have been cooking for a long time (40 yrs).
My cooking came to a complete change when my husband found out he has a kidney problem. The Dr. said NO SALT! So I have to eliminate as much salt as possible. I think I am doing a pretty good job. And I am also benefiting from it too. I got myself a few low-sodium/no sodium cookbooks to start and it has gone pretty good.
I work part time with my husband in his business. He is an electrical contractor.
Hope to hear from some of you .
have a great day,
Pat

Hello Pat and welcome to spice place. My husband had high blood pressure and I am also always trying to cut the salt in recipes. He isn't to the point that he has been banned salt but knowing he has this tendancy I figure an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure. His blood pressure is normal now.

Some things to think about when cooking with less or no salt is what the purpose of salt is in food. Salt it's self has no flavor. What salt does is to act as a conductor of flavors. It acts on your tongue to make it more receptive to the flavors in food. The good news is that there are other ingredients you can use which will do the same thing to varying degrees. The first of these is acid. This means lemon juice, wine, vinegar etc. These ingredients liven foods up and allow you to enjoy flavors more fully.

Other things which will help are ingredients with Umame. Many of these unfortunately contain a lot of salt such as parmesan cheese and anchovies but others like low sodium tomato paste work very well.