What's new
Cooking Forum

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gravy Question For Crock Pot Users

The Ironic Chef

Has anyone ever used Tapioca as a thickening agent when making a pot roast in the crock pot? I'm not sure of what amount to use with what amount of liquid. I have heard Tapioca works excellent as a thickening agent and will not loose it's gravy consistency over long period of cooking time like flour or corn starch will. I'd appreciate any advice advice.

Wasn't this question asked in another thread? If you you Tapioca I would start with a Tablespoon and then add more until the desired thickness is achieved. I have no experience about Tapioca not breaking down eventually over continued cooking. I prefer using ClearJel®.

The question is also on the Crock pot thread Can Man. I thought it would be better to post it here on the questions thread also.
I saw a cooking show awhile back. I think It was Americas test Kitchen on PBS. One of my favorite shows till they went to Cooks Country.
On the show they suggested Minute Tapioca for a thickening agent for crock pot gravies. They did try the ClearJel®. and didn't get the same results.

I'm am trying to research the use of the Minute Tapioca.