What's new
Cooking Forum

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Need help with sauce decisions

Chef LG

because I am in a pre-exam for becoming a sou chef next fall I have to try and decide what sauce I need for a piece of chicken, pork and or fish
what kinds of cuts for chicken or pork or kind of fish i do not know...it is a black box and so we need three recepies all with sauces and which ever one the teacher decides is the one i'm doing. I am Just learning the soups and stocks part of classes right now at the same time im taking the pre-exam for the sou chef so I kinda need help because my knowledge in this area is very limited. open to any and all suggestions. thanks and i appriciate any help XD

at the moment i havent made any sauces for anything really except roux or gravy so i have no clue XD

there are plenty of recipes out there for different types of sauces - check them out and start making them - it never hurts to try

Have you made- or will you soon be learning to make hollandaise sauce yet? Hollandaise is a classic imulsion sauce- you probably know it's the traditional sauce that tops eggs benedict- for example. While at home I tend to eat simple and homestyle- preferring gravy or raw sauces such as salsas, picantes, relishes or cancasse's made w/ uncooked tomatos or fruits.

But when I want to entertain and impress my fav chicken dish of all time is an Alaskan dish- a broiled or grilled (even floured and sauteed) boneless breast topped w/ extracted king crabmeat and topped w/ sauce choron. Which is a derivative of the classic hollandaise. It's just hollandaise w/ a tarragon/shallots reduction and a bit of tomato paste whisked into it. DELICIOUS!