What's new
Cooking Forum

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Looking for advice

ricksrealpitbbq

I've been a woodworker for 35 years. I thoroughly enjoy my work and I'm quite good at it. That being said, due to economic troubles, I am finding it more and more difficult to land jobs. People are letting things go around their homes and are getting tighter with their discretionary spending. This past winter was brutal for me. I had no work from Thanksgiving until April of this year. Now it's slowing down again, and I'm worried. Traditionally summer time is the busiest time for building trades. But I see it getting much worse before it gets better. Due to my age, working for someone else, or changing fields would be problematic. This leads me to an option that I have actually wanted to pursue in the future.

I am thinking of the only other thing I enjoy and that is food and seeing people enjoy what I cook. I am thinking of taking the plunge and getting into food vending. I'd like to set up a BBQ pit on a trailer and start selling BBQ and grilled foods to tourists and locals in my area. On Monday I plan on finding out which regulatory agency I need to apply to and pursue requirements to do business as a vendor.

Has anyone had experience in doing this sort of thing ? I know I'm in for long hours, and I'm fine with that. Just looking for any help or advice you can share

Thanks